“Memories are the treasures that we keep locked deep within the storehouse of our souls, to keep our hearts warm when we are lonely.”– Becky Aligada

21years later

Like the usual routine, I woke up late again today. I still don’t want to get up but then I have some unfinished works to do. Before I left the room, I checked my phone for messages. Well, nothings new. Just some quotes and a group message. The group message was from a good friend of mine, Art. “Rainy start for the month of March… Ops! Birthday girl Anne turns 21 this coming Saturday. Cheers!

Sent: 7:48:14am

0918755XXXX

For a moment, I was like “what the hell is he talking about?” I raised my head and stared blankly on the ceiling. The though hardly came into my mind. I checked the calendar then laughed at the humor. “Ang mga bata ngayon, nagmamadaling tumanda. Samantalang kaming matatanda na, gustong maging bata.”

I realized how much I miss my childhood days…

Getting A+ on you report card

Playing and doesn’t mind getting dirty

Got a wound after chasing and running after your playmates

Studying while mom checks at me

Getting candy bar as a reward after doing my chores obodiently

Teasing my elementary sitmate “uhugin”

Experimenting with my moms make ups

Wearing high heeled shoes though its not my size

Getting scolded while caught stealing cookies on the jar

Skipping afternoon naps, just to play

First attempt to cook rice

Salty adobo

Failing auditions and dad would just tap and say “you can do
better next time.”

Bullying friends in high school

Eating sundo’t saging and sago on recess

Coach tries to build up my hopes

Team mates cheering

riends seeks comfort after a heart break

First love

First heart break

Doing something illegal

Getting grounded

Going back to the times where my dad was my ideal man and mom was my only friend.

After the rain, I’m able to stand again as if nothing happened. The greatest excuse: “Bata pa ako, ok lang magkamali.” But then, as we age. The world
gets bigger and becomes more complicated. We should learn from our mistakes. Take one step at a time it helps to lessen frustrations. Enjoy life. Things become more complicated the more we think of it.

Leave a Reply

