“Memories are the treasures that we keep locked deep within the storehouse of our souls, to keep our hearts warm when we are lonely.”– Becky Aligada

ACER Aspire 5630

I got my Acer Aspire 5630 Last August, 2007 for around $999. 99. My father bought me one, cause I need it for my paper works in school.  I was torn between amusement and disappoinment when I got my hands on it.

Processor: 1.6GHz Core 2 Duo T5200
Memory: 1GB DDR2
Storage: 120GB hard drive
Optical Drives: Double-layer DVD±RW
Display: 15.4-inch TFT
Graphics: Integrated Intel GMA 950
Operating System: Windows Vista Home Premium

The first thing I notice about this notebook was, its heavy. At 6.2 pounds, the silver-and-black Aspire 5630 is a typical midsize notebook—too large to carry on your daily commute, but spacious enough to work on for long periods. While the notebook’s keyboard and touch pad are just passable in quality (if a bit stiff), its 15.4-inch wide-screen LCD is a cut above your usual budget laptop’s. With a 1,280×800 native resolution, the screen displays bright, sharp images, and DVD playback was smooth in our tests. A few cool Acer software utilities—such as GridVista, which divides the screen into two, three, or four windows, so you can easily work in multiple applications simultaneously—add to the panel’s appeal.

The ‘thin and light’ folio design of this notebook is aesthetically appealing although the build does not feel very solid. The casing on the unit appears to be fairly thin however LCD is better built and screen flex is not an issue. Provided undue stress is not placed on this notebook, the build quality should not be an issue though.

Battery Life

Battery life on the supplied 44W 4000 mAh Li-ion Battery Pack (6-cell) is reasonable, but not great. Running the system on the ‘maximum battery life’ setting (Wireless LAN, Card Bus, LAN off; LCD Brightness ‘0’) it is possible to reach close to the advertised 3.5 hours. However under normal operating conditions (Wireless LAN on; Card Bus and LAN off; LCD Brightness 40%) battery life is closer to 2.5 hours.

Sometimes, I feel like what if I’ve gone for an ASUS Notebook instead of an ACER Aspire Notebook? Aside from that, ASUS offer more options from 14″ below in a much affordable price. Its more convinient to carry around.

Anyway, I’m still using my 5530. But not as often anymore. I spent more time using my Desktop PC. Not to mention, that for only a few months of use of my notebook, it gets weirder and weirder. And it seems that the updates are just making the notebook slower.

 

Leave a Reply

