“Memories are the treasures that we keep locked deep within the storehouse of our souls, to keep our hearts warm when we are lonely.”– Becky Aligada

For a change…

(r)Gucci Envy Me (l) Tommy T Girl

(r)Gucci Envy Me (l) Tommy T Girl

I was in 2nd year high school when I started usuing Tommy T girl perfume. A gift from my “Tita Doc”. Its fresh that comes out with a floral scent combines with camellia flowers with black current, cherokee rose, butterfly violets, tangerine and mandarin, and desert jasmine. Not too strong, not too light. It’s sweet and very feminine.  So its kinda like an acient scent of mine. LOL!

I have this thing with perfume bottles. (yeah, I collect them :D)

“The story is, because it’s father’s day. All the men in the family had a reunion. And because its also their big day, the girls gave them time to be alone.

We, girls all ended up in the mall. (You know how girls work inside the mall). Bla bla bla… like we entered almost every store we bump into. Each of us bought a pair of havaianas in “all flip-flops”, then bags and of course! Perfumes!! And because my loyalty goes with Tommy T girl, I bought its 50ml version (while Ate Donna purchased a Benetton Hot, Mimi chose Hugo Red and Anne  bought Miracle) . It wasn’t really in my plan to shop for any of those cause I intend to buy an Ipod 120gb Classic today. Unfortunatly, there were ZERO electronic store that sells one. Anyway, it was already late when we got home, the men were already in their rooms.

I wasn’t sleepy yet so I went to the terrace and have some air. Trying to rest my legs for a while. To my surprise, my twin followed me and handed me a paperbag. I laughed at her and told her “I’m not a father, Anne. Why give me a gift?” She just made a face and answered, “Should there be a reason for me to give a gift to my sister? Besides, this is just something for a change.” then walked out. When I opened the paperbag, it was a 3.7oz Gucci Envy Me perfume.  We were never close, we are opposite poles. So, I expected that the perfume is something strong and could make my tummy ache and make me dizzy. But then to my surprise, it was subtle, something that goes more fragrant while it stays longer and… familiar. The scent was a mixture of Peony, Jasmine, Pink Pepper, Litchi, Pomegranate, Pineapple, Pink Musk, Seringa, White Tea, Sandalwood, Teakwood, Sensual Musk.

In the back of my mind, there was something that wants to slip in. The familiarity of the scent didn’t want to let go easily.  Then I went to Jaime’s room and woke him up. “Ebe, does this scent rings a bell?” Then, I heard him laugh. “You woke me up just to ask about this? My, really have a poor memory.” I rolled my eyes with half annoyance, I can’t stop making faces with his answer. “5years ago, I gave you the same gift. On your 16th birthday, while I gave Anne a White Linen Estee.” My brows raised with disbelief. Then he continued, “but your sister didn’t like the Estee. Instead, she wanted your Gucci. You know how stubborn your sister is. One morn, while you were in school. She took it from your room, later that day you noticed it was missing. Then you confronted her, she offered you to take her estee, but you denied her proposition. She was furious because you didn’t want to give it to her out of sentimental reasons. She threw it on the wall, the bottle broke into pieces…” Then his voice trailed off.

It’s amazing how memories travel. It can bring you to places from yesterday instantly, but sad to say that that part of my life was still missing and those memories barely reached me. I went back to my room and stare at Anne’s gift. Then I noticed a card hanging on the handle of the paperbag which I didn’t saw earlier.

“I know this one belongs to you, it may not be the same value but I hope it can make things up. Fits huh? Envy me, but the other way around. Sorry Trish…” 06/21/09

Leave a Reply

