“Memories are the treasures that we keep locked deep within the storehouse of our souls, to keep our hearts warm when we are lonely.”– Becky Aligada

Emotional Eating

It’s been years since I’ve felt being down. Like its feels really heavy and so hard to breath. That I’m hurting in an unexplainable reason, or being sad, depressed. Whatever you call it. It maybe hard to admit, but its time to face reality.

Every time I mad, disappointed, frustrated, sad, pressured, happy, or any case of emotion. I tend to eating compulsively. I don’t even care if its good or not good. That I’d rather spend more time eating than talking to a friend and felt like sharing it would be just a waste of time. I don’t usually talk to other people about myself. 70% of myself is hidden – if you’re going to make me do my Juhari Window.

When did it start? I don’t know, maybe after I graduated highschool? during college? It was just recently when I knew about my case. That I’m an Emotional Eater.

Since people discovered the fact that food can bring “comfort”, although in short term only, we still think that its a good reliever. And we thought that gaining weight is just Okay. But since, its not that easy to control and discipline ourselves, worst case is it could lead to obesity. And that is the scary part.

Emotional eating is when people use food as a way to deal with feelings instead of to satisfy hunger. We’ve all been there, finishing a whole bag of chips out of boredom or downing cookie after cookie while cramming for a big test. But when done a lot — especially without realizing it — emotional eating can affect weight, health, and overall well-being.

-Best thing to do is consult a Psychologist, he can help you trace the possible cause of your emotional eating habits.
-Then visit a Nutritionist, they are the experts on how to plan a safe diet that suits you the best.
-Exercise!! You don’t need to enroll to a gym just for that. A simple walk with the dog trick works a lot. If you don’t have a dog, you can do Jogging, or you can make use of your clubs swimming pool.
-WATER!! Drink 8-10 glasses of water a day. OMG! This was like ages ago, but this is really helpful. Remember what you learned in Science? “The human body is composed of 70%  water.”
-Sleep 6-8hours a day, this can help lessen the stress and being problematic.
-Talk to your parents or friends. People you can trust the most.
-Discipline yourself and BE CONSISTENT!! Make yourself busy. Clean your room, wash the car, do blogging, socialize, play boardgames with the family… there are lots of things you can do!! It’s not just eating. 🙂

and the last, Stay Positive!!

Did you actually believe that I’ll do all this crap?

YES!! I DO! and damn it! I need to do this! It’s like, I have to help myself from drowning.  And everyone around me knows, I can’t drown because I’m a good swimmer!! F*ck that! LoL

Anyway, I have a scheduled check up with the Nutritionist tomorrow. She’ll be explaining the Do’s and Don’t’s and how to control salt intake. Sigh* wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

