“Memories are the treasures that we keep locked deep within the storehouse of our souls, to keep our hearts warm when we are lonely.”– Becky Aligada

24hours

Image

Look at the time? My stay in Bangkok is surely short, but very busy. After my meetings with the Big Boss, I’m enjoying the rest of my hours here in Hilton. Thanks to Emily and Maricar who helped with my accommodations, I got out the airport around 8pm. I know that once we get in Bangkok, the gap between me and sleep will grow more. Even the luxury of the hotel room wasn’t enough to tie me down in bed. Oh how I badly wanted to get some sleep. 

There might be a hundred and one things that I don’t understand but I was really fascinated with how they actually travel by land, crossing borders, blending to the locals. Since I have a driver to help me in the city, I’m stock with the idea of missing the adventure. 

So this morning, I decided to become a ninja to experience the city for a few hours. From the hotel, I walked for about half a mile before I was entirely and successfully gone unnoticed. There are certain words that I can grasp but it was hard since some of the locals were having a hard time understanding me too. 

I wanted to buy something for my brother, so I asked for a friend’s help. She did the translating, and guided me to where I can buy some good stuff. We ended up Chatuchak Market, the largest weekend market. Since it was still early, we decided to eat breakfast first. For the first time in my life, I literally felt that I was a Fire Dragon! Hahahaha!! 
Image

Imagine these, so beautiful and colorful can make you breath fire? OMG! But it made my day! I’d surely pass coffee this morning cause this one really kicked me wide awake.

Feeling like a lost kid in a big city and hours of wondering, They finally noticed I was missing!! I know I was wrong, but I knew that they won’t let me go if I asked them too. Seeing a driver pick me up in the airport is already an omen of ‘NO, YOU CAN’T”. And I deserve a sermon, it’s a miracle I didn’t get one. Hmmm… I wonder why?

Image

With a few more hours before my contract ends, my boss gave a lunch conference for the whole team as a ‘thank you’. Everybody seems excited to go home for the holiday, but the girls and I were busy planning what to do next. I haven’t been to the water park, or the floating market and I want to watch a Muay Thai fight, so there are still a lot of things to do. Argghhhh!! I can’t wait for January! 

Oh by the way, thank you Maricar and Emily! You saved me.

 

Leave a Reply

